Radioactive Waste Disposal Program

Disposal Rate Schedules

South Carolina, Connecticut, and New Jersey comprise the Atlantic Compact Commission (ACC). As part of the decommissioning of the Barnwell facility, South Carolina only accepts low-level radioactive waste (LLRW) from SC, CT, or NJ. Disposal rate schedules are produced annually and define the costs associated with using the Barnwell LLRW disposal facility.

LLRW includes a wide range of materials from nuclear power plants and nuclear fuel industries, research and medical facilities, and the U.S. military. Waste can include clothing, filters, and metals exposed to radiation. The South Carolina Office of Regulatory Staff is responsible for establishing and adjusting the rate schedules for disposal of LLRW at the Barnwell facility. It is also responsible for determining the costs of operating the Barnwell facility and participating in Public Service Commission proceedings as an advocate for the state to ensure that the disposal facility is operated as effectively as possible.