energy AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE STATE MOTOR FUEL TAXES: NOTES SUMMARY

RATES EFFECTIVE 7/1/2016

Gasoline Diesel

Total State Total State

State Other State  Total State  plus Federal State Other State  Total State ~ plus Federal
Excise Tax = Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees Excise Taxes | Excise Tax = Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees = Excise Taxes
(@18.4 cpg) (@ 24.4 cpg)

State Notes and Comments

“Other Taxes” column includes a 1 cpg UST/AST Trust Fund Environmental
Transport Fee levied at the wholesale level to cover remediation costs.
The volume-weighted average of the additional city and county taxes

was approximately 2 cpg on both gasoline and diesel. An additional 2
Alabama 16.00 4.91 20.91 39.31 19.00 2.89 21.89 46.29 cpg inspection fee applied to gasoline only is also included. The Alabama
Terminal Excise Tax Act which imposes a tax at the terminal rack or when
the fuel is imported into the state took effect 10/1/2012. There is also a
Wholesale Oil/Import License Fee of .75 cpg on diesel sold at the rack or
imported into the state.

“Other Taxes” include the 1.1 % weighted average sales tax of all cities
Alaska 8.95 3.30 12.25 30.65 8.95 3.80 12.75 37.15 and boroughs.

“Other Taxes” columns include a 1 cpg UST tax. The fuel tax on diesel is 19

Arizona 18.00 1.00 19.00 37.40 26.00 1.00 27.00 51.40 cpg for light and exempt vehicles and 27 cpg if used to propel a truck with
more than two axels or with a declared gross weight over 26,000 pounds.

“Other Taxes” include 0.3 cpg environmental assurance fee assessed
Arkansas 21.50 0.30 21.80 40.20 22.50 0.30 22.80 47.20 at the wholesale level for underground storage tank fund.

Gasoline tax decreased to 27.8 cpg and diesel tax increased to 16 cpg. The
sales tax on gasoline is 2.25% plus applicable district taxes for gasoline and
California 27.80 10.77 38.57 56.97 16.00 22.69 38.69 63.09 9.25% for diesel. Sales tax rates applied are a weighted average based on
county population. Other fees include the Underground Storage Tank (UST)
fee which is 2.0 cpg.

Colorado 22.00 0.00 22.00 40.40 20.50 0.00 20.50 44.90

Diesel tax declined from 50.3 to 41.7 cpg and will remain in effect for one
year. Variable portion of gasoline tax increased .44 cpg to 13.3 cpg on 7/1/16
due to an increase in the wholesale price of gasoline. “Other Taxes” column
for gasoline includes petroleum gross receipts earnings tax collected at

the wholesale level. The gross receipts tax is 8.1%, but is not assessed on
diesel, biodiesel, or straight ethanol. The petroleum gross receipts earnings
Connecticut 25.00 13.30 38.30 56.70 41.70 0.00 41.70 66.10 tax is capped at $3 per gallon per SB 457 Conn. General Statute § 12-587(a)
(2) enacted in 2012. The state is calculating the gross receipts tax on $3
wholesale gasoline and not the amount in excess of $3. With this $3 per
gallon cap, the maximum amount of the other fees would be 26.4 cpg and
would be less when the price of gasoline falls below $3 per gallon. Failure
to cap the tax at $3 per gallon would constitute a violation of the state price
gouging statute.

An additional 0.9% gross receipts tax for the state hazardous substance
Delaware 23.00 0.00 23.00 41.40 22.00 0.00 22.00 46.40 cleanup fund is also assessed at the wholesale level after yearly exclusions
are met. (Title 7: 9114).
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State

District of
Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

lllinois

Indiana

State
Excise Tax

23.50

4.00

26.00

17.00

32.00

19.00

18.00

AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE

Gasoline
Total State
Other State  Total State  plus Federal
Taxes/Fees  Taxes/Fees Excise Taxes
(@18.4 cpg)
0.00 23.50 41.90
32.58 36.58 54.98
517 31.17 49.57
26.00 43.00 61.40
1.00 33.00 51.40
14.45 33.45 51.85
14.07 32.07 50.47

STATE MOTOR FUEL TAXES: NOTES SUMMARY

RATES EFFECTIVE 7/1/2016

State
Excise Tax

23.50

4.00

29.00

17.00

32.00

21.50

16.00

Diesel

Other State  Total State

Taxes/Fees  Taxes/Fees
0.00 23.50
29.77 33.77
5.82 34.82
23.74 40.74
1.00 33.00
13.07 34.57
24.38 40.38

Total State
plus Federal
Excise Taxes
(@ 24.4 cpg)

47.90

58.17

59.22

65.14

57.40

58.97

64.78

Notes and Comments

The 10/1/2013 notice that raised the gasoline tax to 28.8 cpg
was rescinded. The gasoline rate remains at 23.5 cpg.

“Other Taxes” column includes the state sales tax (0.133 cpg) which is
indexed to the CPI. The “Other Taxes” also include the average of county
option taxes: Inspection Fee (.00125), 9"-cent tax (up to 0.01 cpg), Local
Option Tax (up to 0.06 cpg), Additional Local Option (up to 5 cpg), and

the SCETS (up to 7.4 cpg). Various state environmental import taxes total
2.071 cpg. Figure for Other Taxes and Fees represent a weighted average
for Florida by county. Actual amount will depend on county where fuel is
purchased.

Motor fuel sales are exempted from the 4% state sales tax. HB170 passed
in 2015 imposes a $3.00 cap on the average retail sales price used to
calculate the prepaid local tax rate.

Gas tax increased 0.36 cpg and diesel tax decreased 0.01 cpg 4/1/2016.
Maui County Resolution No. 15-54 increased the county of Maui fuel tax
rates to 18 cpg effective 7/1/2015. “Other Taxes” increased .34 cpg for
both gasoline and diesel in Q22015. Other taxes include additional county
taxes and 0.1 cpg environmental response tax. For diesel sales, “Other
Taxes” also includes a sales tax amount based upon the 4% General Excise
Tax (GET) rate.

“Other Taxes” column includes the 1 cpg Petroleum Clean Water Trust Fund
Transfer Fee.

Gas tax increased 0.90 cpg and diesel tax decreased 0.82 cpg 4/1/2016.
lllinois exempts E85 and diesel blends of more than 10% biodiesel from
sales taxes. It also allows E10 and biodiesel blends of 2-10% to receive an
exemption of 20% off the sales tax. The sales tax exemption for biodiesel is
set to expire at the end of 2018. “Other Taxes” columns include a 1.1 cpg tax
for underground storage tank fund, and other local sales and gasoline taxes.
The state-wide sales tax is 6.25%, with some local sales taxes making it as
high as 10%. Cook County collects 6 cpg, and Chicago 5 cpg. DuPage, Kane,
and McHenry Counties impose 4 cpg tax. Any city of over 100,000 can also
impose a tax of 1 cpg by referendum.

"Other Taxes" for gasoline includes a monthly variable gasoline use tax
rate . Rate as of 7/1/16 is 13.067 cpg plus 1 cpg inspection fee. Other
Taxes for diesel includes 7% sales tax and 1 cpg inspection fee. For diesel,
there is an additional 11 cpg surcharge paid on a quarterly self-reporting
basis.
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enerqgy. AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE STATE MOTOR FUEL TAXES: NOTES SUMMARY

RATES EFFECTIVE 7/1/2016

Gasoline Diesel

Total State Total State

State Other State  Total State  plus Federal State Other State  Total State ~ plus Federal
Excise Tax = Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees Excise Taxes | Excise Tax = Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees = Excise Taxes
(@18.4 cpg) (@ 24.4 cpg)

State Notes and Comments

Gasoline tax decreased .3 cpg from 31 cpg to 30.7 cpg 7/1/2016. “Other
Taxes” columns include 1 cpg UST fee that will be eliminated as of
12/31/16. lowa tax on gasoline is subject to change each year on July
lowa 30.70 1.00 31.70 50.10 32.50 1.00 33.50 57.90 1st, based on percentage of ethanol sales compared to total motor fuel
[gasoline] sold. For diesel, tax rate is subject to change each year on July
1st, based on percentage of biodiesel sales compared to total special fuel
[diesel] sold.

“Other Taxes” columns include environmental assurance fee of 1 cpg (per
Kansas 24.00 0.03 24.03 42.43 26.00 0.03 26.03 50.43 K.S.A. 65-34,117) and petroleum products inspection fee is 1.5 cents per
barrel (50 gallons) per K.S.A. 55-426.

Tax rates of 24.6 cpg for gasoline and 21.6 cpg for diesel will remain
constant for the Q1 and Q22016. HB 299 sets a new wholesale price
“floor” for the motor fuels tax system at $2.177 through 6/30/2016. Excise
tax includes 5.0 cpg supplemental highway user tax for gasoline. “Other

Kentucky 24.60 1.40 26.00 44.40 21.60 1.40 23.00 47.40 Taxes” columns include 1.4 cpg collected for the petroleum storage tank
environmental assurance fee. Supplemental highway user tax is 2.0 cpg
for special fuels. Commercial carriers pay surtax via a quarterly report on
gasoline and on special fuels.

Louisiana 20.00 0.01 20.01 38.41 20.00 0.01 20.01 44.41 Other fees include a 0.00125 cpg petroleum products fee and a 0.008 cpg

motor fuel delivery fee.

The Maine Ground and Surface Waters Clean-up and Response Fund
Maine 30.00 0.01 30.01 48.41 31.20 0.01 31.21 55.61 replaced the formerly separate Coastal and Inland Water and Groundwater
Fund. The fee is 1.4 cpg for gasoline and .67 cpg for diesel.

Gasoline and diesel tax increased by .9 cpg based on a state formula passed
in 2013. The sales and use tax is 8.0 cpg. The Transportation Infrastructure
Investment Act of 2013 indexed the motor fuel tax rates for all fuels, except
aviation gasoline and turbine fuel to the annual change in the Consumer
Price Index (CPI) and imposes a sales and use tax equivalent on all motor
Maryland 25.50 8.00 33.50 51.90 26.25 8.00 34.25 58.65 fuel, except aviation and turbine fuel. If there is a decline or no growth in the
CPI, the motor fuel tax rates shall remain unchanged. The excise tax rate
may not increase by more than 8% of the tax rate imposed in the previous
year. The new law imposes a sales and use tax equivalent rate on motor
fuel based on the average annual retail price of regular unleaded gasoline,
excluding Federal and State taxes.
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State

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota
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Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire
New Jersey

New Mexico

State
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24.00

19.00

28.50

18.00

17.00

27.00

25.80

23.00

22.20
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AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE

Gasoline

Total State

Other State  Total State  plus Federal

Taxes/Fees  Taxes/Fees Excise Taxes

(@18.4 cpg)
2.54 26.54 44.94
14.26 33.26 51.66
0.10 28.60 47.00
0.79 18.79 37.19
0.30 17.30 35.70
0.75 27.75 46.15
0.90 26.70 45.10
10.86 33.86 52.26
1.63 23.83 42.23
4.00 14.50 32.90
1.88 18.88 37.28

STATE MOTOR FUEL TAXES: NOTES SUMMARY

RATES EFFECTIVE 7/1/2016

State
Excise Tax

24.00

15.00

28.50

18.00

17.00

27.75

26.80

27.00

22.20
13.50
21.00

Diesel

Other State  Total State

Taxes/Fees  Taxes/Fees
2.54 26.54
13.99 28.99
0.10 28.60
0.40 18.40
0.30 17.30
0.75 28.50
0.30 27.10
1.56 28.56
1.63 23.83
4.00 17.50
1.88 22.88

Total State
plus Federal
Excise Taxes
(@ 24.4 cpg)

50.94

53.39

53.00

42.80

41.70

52.90

51.50

52.96

48.23
41.90
47.28

Notes and Comments

The UST Delivery Fee is 2.5395 cpg.

Gas tax increased 0.97 cpg and diesel tax decreased 1.13 cpg 4/1/2016.
“Other Taxes” columns include 6% sales tax and 0.875 cpg for
environmental regulation fee for refined petroleum fund. HB 4738 will
increase the gas tax from 19 cents to 26.3 cents per gallon on 1/1/17 -- a
7.3 cent per gallon increase. It is paired with bringing the current 15 cent
per gallon diesel fuel tax to the same level.

“Other Taxes” column includes an inspection fee of .1 cpg and will
(at times) include a clean up fee of 2.0 cpg depending upon the balance
of environmental fund.

Includes 0.4 cpg Environmental Protection Fee. In Hancock, Harrison
and Jackson counties there is an additional 3.0 cpg Seawall tax on
gasoline only.

“Other Taxes” column includes an agriculture inspection fee in the amount
of 2.5 cents per 50 gallons (.0005 per gallon) and the transport load fee

in the amount of $20.00 per 8,000 gallons (.0025 per gallon) which works
out to .3 cpg. “Other taxes” do not capture the municipality gas taxes of
Charleston (2.0 cpg on diesel), Matthews (1.0 cpg on gasoline and diesel),
and Peculiar (1.0 cpg on gasoline and diesel).

Other taxes columns include 0.75-cpg fee assessed at the pump to go
toward the state cleanup fund.

Nebraska’s fuel tax rate is subject to change every six months and
decreased 1 cpg from 26.8 cpg to 25.8 cpg on 7/1/16. Rate includes 11.8
cpg fixed tax, a 12.5 cpg wholesale tax, and a 2.5 cpg variable tax. “Other
Taxes” columns include 0.9 cpg release prevention fee for gasoline and 0.3
cpg release prevention fee for diesel and other fuels.

“Other Taxes” columns include individual county taxes on gasoline, 0.75
cpg cleanup fee, and .055 cpg inspection fee.

“Other Taxes” columns include 0.125 cpg for Qil Pollution Control Fund and
Underground Storage Tank (UST) cleanup fund of 1.5 cpg.

“Other Taxes” columns include 4.0 cpg Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax.

“Other Taxes” columns include $150 charge per 8,000 gallon load delivery
fee which works out to an additional tax of 1.875 cpg.
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energy AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE STATE MOTOR FUEL TAXES: NOTES SUMMARY

RATES EFFECTIVE 7/1/2016

Gasoline Diesel

Total State Total State
State Other State  Total State  plus Federal State Other State  Total State ~ plus Federal

SR Excise Tax = Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees Excise Taxes | Excise Tax  Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees Excise Taxes A COTTET
(@18.4 cpg) (@ 24.4 cpg)
The state imposes a 8 cpg motor and diesel fuel excise motor fuel tax, with
an additional .05 cpg petroleum testing fee on gasoline only. Petroleum
business tax is 17.0 cpg for gasoline and 15.25 cpg for diesel fuel. Other
taxes include a average state sales tax rate adjusted based on population
to reflect the MCTD region (8.75 cpg) and general region (8 cpg) tax.
New York 8.05 35.35 43.40 61.80 8.00 33.90 41.90 66.30

NY counties also apply sales taxes to fuel which can be a cpg or a % basis
tax. Most counties impose a % based tax and “Other Taxes” reflects a

9.6 cpg addition of the blended local sales tax rates applied to the state
average retail prices. Actual amount will depend on county where fuel is
purchased.

Gasoline and diesel tax rate decreased 1 cpg from 7/1/2016 through
North Carolina 34.00 0.25 34.25 52.65 34.00 0.25 34.25 58.65 12/31/2016. “Other Taxes” columns include 0.25 cpg inspection tax.
Future rates are also prescribed in the legislation (SB 20).

A special excise tax of 4 cpg is imposed on dyed diesel and other qualified

special fuels sold for use in other than licensed vehicles. A special excise
tax of 2% is imposed on the sale of LPG for use in other than licensed

North Dakota 23.00 0.00 23.00 41.40 23.00 0.00 23.00 47.40 vehicles. LNG is exempt from the special excise tax of 4 cpg if used for

an agricultural, industrial, or railroad purpose. Special excise tax is not

imposed on these fuels if used for a qualified heating purpose.

Petroleum Activity Tax (PAT) is assessed on suppliers of motor fuel. PAT
Ohio 28.00 0.00 28.00 46.40 28.00 0.00 28.00 5240 calculated at .65% of gross receipts and collected at terminal rack. PAT

replaces the Commercial Activities Tax (CAT) which was assessed at
.26% of gross receipts.

Oklahoma 16.00 1.00 17.00 35.40 13.00 1.00 14.00 38.40 “Other Taxes” columns include a 1 cpg per gallon UST fee.
“Other Taxes” columns include additional optional county gasoline
Oregon 30.00 1.12 31.12 49.52 30.00 0.36 30.36 54.76 (ranging from 1 to 3 cpg) and city gasoline and diesel taxes

(ranging from 1 to 5 cpg).

“Other taxes” also includes 1.1 cpg UST fee collected by the Insurance
Department paid by retailers on gasoline which is billed by the distributor at
the time of delivery, and for diesel, which is billed annually by USTIF based

. on a 8.25 cpg multiplied by the size of the UST. The Transportation Funding
Pennsylvania 0.00 51.40 51.40 69.80 0.00 65.10 65.10 89.50 Act 89 of 2013 eliminates the fixed diesel and gasoline excise tax. State law
requires the Qil Company Franchise Tax (OCFT) to be calculated and certified
annually by the state Department of Revenue. The tax rate is determined on a
cents per gallon equivalent basis.

Page 5 of 7



energy

Gasoline
State State Other State  Total State
Excise Tax =~ Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees
Rhode Island 33.00 1.00 34.00
South Carolina 16.00 0.75 16.75
South Dakota 28.00 2.00 30.00
Tennessee 20.00 1.40 21.40
Texas 20.00 0.00 20.00
Utah 29.40 0.01 29.41
Vermont 12.10 18.36 30.46
Virginia 19.89 2.50 22.39
Washington 49.40 0.00 49.40
West Virginia 20.50 12.70 33.20

AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE

Total State
plus Federal
Excise Taxes
(@18.4 cpg)

52.40

35.15

48.40
39.80
38.40

47.81

48.86

40.79

67.80

51.60

STATE MOTOR FUEL TAXES: NOTES SUMMARY

RATES EFFECTIVE 7/1/2016

Diesel
State Other State  Total State
Excise Tax =~ Taxes/Fees = Taxes/Fees
33.00 1.00 34.00
16.00 0.75 16.75
28.00 2.00 30.00
17.00 1.40 18.40
20.00 0.00 20.00
29.40 0.01 29.41
28.00 4.00 32.00
23.38 2.70 26.08
49.40 0.00 49.40
20.50 12.70 33.20

Total State
plus Federal
Excise Taxes
(@ 24.4 cpg)

58.40

41.15

54.40
42.80
44.40

53.81

56.40

50.48

73.80

57.60

Notes and Comments

Tax is indexed every two years. Next change will be 7/1/17. “Other Taxes”
columns include a 1.0 cpg environmental protection regulatory fee of
which 0.5 cpg goes to the UST program and 0.5 cpg goes to the public
transportation authority.

“Other Taxes” columns include a 0.25 cpg inspection fee and 0.50 cpg
environmental fee for UST cleanup. Assessed on all petroleum products at
the wholesale level.

“Other Taxes” columns include a 2.0 cpg tank inspection fee.

“Other Taxes” columns include a 1.0 cpg special petroleum tax for gasoline
and 0.4 cpg environmental assurance fee.

Effective January 1, 2016, HB 362 converts the 24.5 cpg state gas tax to
a 12% tax based on a $2.45 wholesale price. As a result, tax increased
4.9 cpg for both gasoline and diesel from 24.5 cpg to 29.4 cpg. “Other
Taxes” columns include a .0065 cpg environmental surcharge fee on
petroleum products.

Gasoline excise tax of 12.1 ¢pg is unchanged. The 2016 second quarter
Motor Fuel Transportation Infrastructure Assessment fee is 3.96 cpg and
13.40 cpg MFTA are unchanged from Q1. Rate is determined by assessing
4% of the average retail price of the previous quarter and is in addition to
the 12.1 cpg excise tax and 1 cpg licensing fee.

State excise tax amounts are a weighted average. Actual amount will depend
on county where fuel is purchased. “Other Taxes” columns include 0.6 cpg
petroleum storage tank fee and 2.1% sales tax on motor fuels wholesalers in
localities that are part of the Northern Virginia Transportation District or localities
in a transportation district contiguous to that district. Virginia has added a 2.1%
sales tax on motor fuels in the Hampton Roads Transportation District.

Increase in gasoline and diesel tax of 4.9 cpg as of 7/1/16.

Gas tax was unchanged and diesel tax decreased 1.40 cpg 4/1/2016. Law
states that the wholesale tax rate (11.7%) cannot fluctuate more than 10%
from the previous year. For every gallon of gasoline sold, the state charges
consumers a flat tax of 20.5 cpg, plus 5% of the average wholesale
gasoline price.
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energy AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE STATE MOTOR FUEL TAXES: NOTES SUMMARY

RATES EFFECTIVE 7/1/2016

Gasoline Diesel
Total State Total State
State Other State  Total State  plus Federal State Other State  Total State ~ plus Federal
State Excise Tax = Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees Excise Taxes | Excise Tax = Taxes/Fees Taxes/Fees = Excise Taxes Notes and Comments
(@18.4 cpg) (@ 24.4 cpg)
Wisconsin 30.90 2.00 32.90 51.30 30.90 2.00 32.90 57.30 Other Taxes” columns include 2-cpg UST fee on gasoline and diesel.
Wyoming 23.00 1.00 24.00 42.40 23.00 1.00 24.00 48.40 “Other Taxes” columns include 1 cpg for UST cleanup fund.
U.S. Average 20.72 9.06 29.78 48.18 20.45 9.37 29.83 54.23 Represents volume-weighted average

This report is intended to help consumers understand the “set costs” of a gallon of gasoline and which of the costs are from either from the various state taxes on a gallon of gasoline or federal taxes. Rates are rounded to the nearest hundredth decimal.
NOTE: For states with sales tax on fuel, price per gallon calculated based on AAA average prices for 7/1/2016. Tax rates and or notes changed since last report: AZ, CA, CT, GA, HI, ID, IL, IA, MI, MD, MS, NE, NC, OR, PA, VA, and WA .
NOTE: States that assess a percentage tax based on the price of gasoline rather than a straight cents-per-gallon rate are impacted the most.

© Copyright 2016 — American Petroleum Institute (API), all rights reserved. Digital Media | DM2016-059 | 07.11 | PDF

DISCLAIMER: The State Motor Fuel Tax Report is posted on the web for informational purposes only. Given the changing nature of laws, rules, and regulations, there may be delays, omissions or inaccuracies in the information contained in this report. Accordingly, the information in this report
is provided with the understanding that it should not be relied on as the current laws of the states. While APl has made every attempt to ensure that the information contained in this report has been obtained from reliable sources, APl is not responsible for any errors or omissions, or for the

results obtained from the use of this information. All information in this report is provided “as is,” with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy, timeliness, or of the results obtained from the use of this information, and without warranty of any warranty of any ind, express or implied. In no Page 70f7
event will API or its employees or agents be liable for any decision made or action taken in reliance on the information in this report or for any consequential, special or similar damages.



